Borders Communities Helping the Local Area

A total of 17 villages and towns were recognised for their work in helping to maintain the region at a ceremony at Scottish Borders Council’s Headquarters in Newtown St Boswells.

Jedburgh claimed the overall title in front of Lauder, Birgham and Ayton, who were all highly commended.

editorial image

Other winners included Kelso, Melrose, Coldingham and Westruther, with special awards also given to Earlston, Eyemouth and Clovenfords.

The full list of winners were:

Champion of Champions – 1, Jedburgh; 2= Lauder, Ayton and Birgham;

Town – 1, Kelso; 2, Peebles; 3, Eyemouth;

Large Village – 1, Melrose; 2, Coldstream; 3, Chirnside;

Small Village – 1, Coldingham; 2, Greenlaw;

Wee Village – 1, Westruther; 2, Morebattle; 3, Hume;

Welcome Award – Earlston;

Quality of Life Awards – Chirnside, Jedburgh and Lauder;

Border Biodiversity Award – Eyemouth;

Clean and Tidy Award – Clovenfords.

Frank Ritchie pictured at the launch of the Mental Health Foundation's  ribbon projection in honour of World Mental Health Day at Buchanan Galleries. (Photo by Bill Murray / SNS Group)

Councillor Sandy Aitchison, SBC’s Executive Member for Neighbourhoods and Locality Services, said: “Community groups across the Scottish Borders have once again stepped up to keep their local area thriving and we must thank them for their fantastic efforts.

“We have been in discussions with various community groups throughout 2019, including at our first Spring Seminar in March, and know it has been another challenging year with more changes to our services.

“However, we believe by working together we can ensure our area retains its beauty for local people and visitors alike.

“Congratulations to all the winners of a Floral Gateway award.”

Written by Editor

What do you think?

12654 points
Upvote Downvote

Leave a Reply

A ginger haired dog stood prowling around in some dirt

Fox Hunt Row with The Duke Of Kent

An empty classroom

Golden Jubilee For Dumbarton School