As Predicted: Time Person Of The Year Is The #MeToo Movement.

The shortlist included President Donald Trump, Former NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick, North Korean dictator Kim Jong Un, Chinese President Xi Jinping, Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, “Wonder Woman” director Patty Jenkins, The #MeToo movement, Dreamers (undocumented immigrants under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals), and Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos.

And the winner (as we stated two days earlier) was The #MeToo movement.


Time magazine calls them “The Silence Breakers,” the women and men who came forward with stories of sexual harassment and assault.

“The galvanizing actions of the women on our cover … along with those of hundreds of others, and of many men as well, have unleashed one of the highest-velocity shifts in our culture since the 1960s,” Time’s editor in chief, Edward Felsenthal, told NBC’s “Today” show Wednesday.

Many prominent men had their day of reckoning for sexual misconduct.

Like Charlie Rose and Matt Lauer and Mark Halperin and former NPR news chief Michael Oreskes.

Like Russell Simmons and Louis C.K. and Kevin Spacey and James Levine and Sen. Al Franken (D-Minn.).

Like John Conyers Jr. (D-Mich.), resigned Tuesday amid mounting allegations of sexual harassment.

In choosing its Person of the Year, Time has said it names the person or people who had the most significant influence over the past 12 months.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s